New Zealand Public Holidays 2012

In New Zealand, there are a few types of public holidays: those which always fall on Monday (or “Mondayised”), those which are substitutable if falls on weekend and those that are only to be taken on the holiday day itself.

Christmas and New Year will be substituted to Monday or Tuesday if fall on a weekend. Other New Zealand 2012 public holidays are taken only on the day they fall, thus if it fall on a weekend, only employees working on weekends are entitled day-off or extra pay.

New Zealand workers who work on a NZ 2012 holidays must be both paid time-and-a-half and given an alternative holiday (known as a day in lieu). Payment for the alternative holiday is equivalent relevant daily pay for the particular alternative day taken, had they have worked it.

Shops here can be expected to open during most New Zealand public holidays 2012, but please note there are trading restrictions on Chirstmas Day, Good Friday, and before 1pm on ANZAC Day.

List of New Zealand 2012 Holidays
Below is the list of 2012 holidays in New Zealand.

New Year’s Day
New Year 2012
Sunday, 1 January 2012
Substituted to Monday, 2 January 2012

Day after New Year’s Day
Monday, 2 January 2012
Substituted to Tuesday, 3 January 2012

Wellington Province Anniversary Day
Monday, 23 January 2012

Auckland Province Anniversary Day
Monday, 30 January 2012

Waitangi Day
Monday, 6 February 2012

Good Friday
Friday, 6 April 2012
Good Friday 2012 – The Friday before Easter Sunday

Easter Monday
Monday, 9 April 2012
Easter 2012 – The day after Easter

Anzac Day
Anzac Day – Remembrance for those who died during military service.
Wednesday, 25 April 2012

Queen’s Birthday
Queen’s Birthday – Official birthday of the Queen celebrated in commonwealth countries.
Monday, 4 June 2012
The first Monday in June

Labour Day
International Labour Day to commemorate workers’ achievement around the world.
Monday, 22 October 2012
The fourth Monday in October

Canterbury Province – Christchurch Show Day
Friday, 9 November 2012

Christmas Day
Christmas 2012
Tuesday, 25 December 2012

Boxing Day
Boxing Day – the day after Christmas.
Wednesday, 26 December 2012

Happy New Zealand 2012 Holidays !