Armed Forces Day

Armed Forces Day is a special day observed in many countries to pay tribute to both men and women armies who have served the countries. Different countries observe Armed Forces Day on different dates. Most countries determined their Armed Forces Day based on certain events which was significant for the countries and related to the countries’ armed forces.

2013 Armed Forces Day Around the World

Below is the list of 2013 Armed Forces Day observance dates in many countries.

Armenia : Monday, 28 January 2013
Known as Բանակի օր (Army Day).

Australia : Thursday, 25 April 2013
Known as ANZAC Day.
Australia observes ANZAC Day as a public holiday.

Azerbaijan : Wednesday, 26 June 2013
Known as Silahlı Qüvvələr Günü (Day of the Armed Forces).

Bangladesh : Thursday, 21 November 2013

Brazil : Brazil observes several Armed Forces Day a Year.
Friday, 19 April 2013 – Dia do Exército (Brazilian Army commemorative day)
Tuesday, 11 June 2013 – Data Magna da Marinha do Brasil (Brazilian Navy commemorative day)
Sunday, 25 August 2013 – Dia do Soldado (Soldier’s Day)
Wednesday, 23 October 2013 – Dia do Avidator (Aviator’s Day)
Friday, 13 December 2013 – Dia do Marinheiro (Sailor’s Day)

Bulgaria : Monday, 6 May 2013
Known as The Day of Bravery.

Burma : Wednesday, 27 March 2013
Known as Tatmadaw Nay (Armed Forces Day).

Canada : Sunday, 2 June 2013 (1st Sunday in June)
Known as Canadian Forces Day.

Chile : Thursday, 19 September 2013
Known as Día de las Glorias del Ejército.
Chile observes Día de las Glorias del Ejército as a national holiday.

Republic of China : Tuesday, 3 September 2013
Known as 軍人節 (Armed Forces Day).

People’s Republic of China : Thursday, 1 August 2013
Known as 建军节 (Army Day)

Egypt : Sunday, 6 October 2013

Finland : Tuesday, 4 June 2013
Known as Suomen marsalkan syntymäpäivä (The Birthday of Marshal of Finland).

France : Sunday, 14 July 2013
Also known as Bastille Day or France’s National Day.
France observes Bastille Day as a public holiday.

Georgia : Tuesday, 30 April 2013

Greece : Thursday, 21 November 2013

Guatemala : Sunday, 30 June 2013
Known as Día del Ejército.

Hungary : Tuesday, 21 May 2013
Known as the Day of Patriots and Military Honvédelem Napja.

India : In India, each division of Forces observes its own Armed Forces Day.
Tuesday, 15 January 2013 – Army Day
Friday, 1 February 2013 – Indian Coast Guard Day
Tuesday, 8 October 2013 – Indian Air Force Day
Wednesday, 4 December 2013 – Indian Navy Day

Indonesia : Saturday, 5 October 2013
Known as Hari Tentara Nasional Indonesia (Indonesian National Armed Forces Day).

Iran : Thursday, 18 April 2013
Known as Rouz-e Artesh (Army Day).

Iraq : Sunday, 6 January 2013

Israel : Monday, 15 April 2013 (4th day of Iyar based on Hebrew Calendar)
Known as Yom HaZikaron (Memorial Day).

Italy : Monday, 4 November 2013
Known as Giorno delle Forze Armate (Armed Forces Day)

Japan : Japan observes 3 kinds of Armed Forces Day a year.
Sunday, 10 March 2013 – Riku-gun Kinen’bi (Army Commemoration Day)
Friday, 24 May 2013 – Kai-gun Kinen’bi (Navy Commemoration Day)
Friday, 1 November 2013 – Jiei-tai Kinen’bi (Self-Defense Force Day)

Lebanon : Thursday, 1 August 2013

Mali : Sunday, 20 January 2013
Known as Mali Army Day.

Malaysia : Monday, 16 September 2013
Known as Hari Angkatan Tentera Malaysia (Malaysian Armed Forces Day).

Mauritania : Wednesday, 1 May 2013

Mexico : Tuesday, 19 February 2013

New Zealand : Thursday, 25 April 2013
Known as ANZAC Day.
New Zealand observes ANZAC Day as a public holiday.

Nigeria : Tuesday, 15 January 2013

North Korea : Thursday, 25 April 2013
Known as Army Day.

Pakistan : Pakistan observes Armed Forces Day for 3 days.
Friday, 6 September 2013 – Defense Day
Saturday, 7 September 2013 – Air Force Day
Sunday, 8 September 2013 – Nay Day/Victory Day

Peru : Tuesday, 24 September 2013
Known as Día de las Fuerzas Armadas del Perú (Peruvian Armed Forces Day)

Poland : Thursday, 15 August 2013

Romania : Friday, 25 October 2013

Russian Federation : Saturday, 23 February 2013
Known as Dyen’ zaschitnika Otechestva (Defender of the Fatherland Day).’

Serbia : Friday, 15 February 2013

Singapore : Monday, 1 July 2013

South Korea : Tuesday, 1 October 2013
Known as 국군 의 날 (Armed Forces Day).

Spain : Saturday, 1 June 2013 (Saturday nearest to May 30)
Known as Día de las Fuerzas Armadas (Armed Forces Day).

Sri Lanka : Sri Lanka observes several Armed Forces Day a year.
Saturday, 2 March 2013 – Air Force Day
Wednesday, 9 October 2013 – Army Day
Monday, 9 December 2013 – Navy Day

Thailand : Friday, 18 January 2013

Ukraine : Friday, 6 December 2013
Known as Army Day.

United Kingdom (UK) : Sunday, 30 June 2013

United States (US) : Saturday, 18 May 2013 (3rd Saturday in May)

Venezuela : Monday, 24 June 2013

Vietnam : Sunday, 22 December 2013

2012 Armed Forces Day Around the World

Below is the list of 2013 Armed Forces Day observance dates in many countries.

Armenia : Saturday, 28 January 2012
Australia : Wednesday, 25 April 2012
Azerbaijan : Tuesday, 26 June 2012
Bangladesh : Wednesday, 21 November 2012
Brazil : Brazil observes several Armed Forces Day a Year.
Thursday, 19 April 2012 – Dia do Exército (Brazilian Army commemorative day)
Monday, 11 June 2012 – Data Magna da Marinha do Brasil (Brazilian Navy commemorative day)
Saturday, 25 August 2012 – Dia do Soldado (Soldier’s Day)
Tuesday, 23 October 2012 – Dia do Avidator (Aviator’s Day)
Thursday, 13 December 2012 – Dia do Marinheiro (Sailor’s Day)
Bulgaria : Sunday, 6 May 2012
Burma : Tuesday, 27 March 2012
Canada : Sunday, 3 June 2012
Chile : Wednesday, 19 September 2012
Republic of China : Monday, 3 September 2012
People’s Republic of China : Wednesday, 1 August 2012
Egypt : Saturday, 6 October 2012
Finland : Monday, 4 June 2012
France : Saturday, 14 July 2012
Georgia : Monday, 30 April 2012
Greece : Wednesday, 21 November 2012
Guatemala : Saturday, 30 June 2012
Hungary : Monday, 21 May 2012
India :
Sunday, 15 January 2012 – Army Day
Wednesday, 1 February 2012 – Indian Coast Guard Day
Monday, 8 October 2012 – Indian Air Force Day
Tuesday, 4 December 2012 – Indian Navy Day
Indonesia : Friday, 5 October 2012
Iran : Wednesday, 18 April 2012
Iraq : Friday, 6 January 2012
Israel : Tuesday, 24 April 2012
Italy : Sunday, 4 November 2012
Japan :
Saturday, 10 March 202 – Riku-gun Kinen’bi (Army Commemoration Day)
Thursday, 24 May 2012 – Kai-gun Kinen’bi (Navy Commemoration Day)
Thursday, 1 November 2012 – Jiei-tai Kinen’bi (Self-Defense Force Day)
Lebanon : Wednesday, 1 August 2012
Mali : Friday, 20 January 2012
Malaysia : Sunday, 16 September 2012
Mauritania : Tuesday, 1 May 2012
Mexico : Sunday, 19 February 2012
New Zealand : Wednesday, 25 April 2012
Nigeria : Sunday, 15 January 2012
North Korea : Wednesday, 25 April 2012
Pakistan :
Thursday, 6 September 2012 – Defense Day
Friday, 7 September 2012 – Air Force Day
Saturday, 8 September 2012 – Navy Day/Victory Day
Peru : Monday, 24 September 2012
Poland : Wednesday, 15 August 2012
Romania : Thursday, 25 October 2012
Russian Federation : Thursday, 23 February 2012
Serbia : Wednesday, 15 February 2012
Singapore : Sunday, 1 July 2012
South Korea : Monday, 1 October 2012
Spain : Saturday, 28 May 2012
Sri Lanka :
Friday, 2 March 2012 – Air Force Day
Tuesday, 9 October 2012 – Army Day
Sunday, 9 December 2012 – Navy Day
Thailand : Wednesday, 18 January 2012
Ukraine : Thursday, 6 December 2012
United Kingdom (UK) : Saturday, 30 June 2012
United States (US) : Saturday, 18 May 2013
Venezuela : Monday, 24 June 2013
Vietnam : Saturday, 22 December 2012

Happy Armed Forces Day 2013!