Most public holidays in Brazil are observed throughout the nation. However, many states and cities in Brazil have their own holidays as well. Public holidays in Brazil are legislated at the federal, state, and municipal level.

Some Christian holidays are observed as public holidays in this country. The other public holidays are derived from certain important events occurred alongside the history of Brazil.

Brazil Holidays 2013

Below is the estimation of Brazil public holidays for the year of 2013. Please note that this is not an official Brazil holidays calendar. Therefore, we do not and cannot guarantee the accuracy of 2013 Brazil holidays calendar available.

New Year’s Day
Ano Novo
The first day of the year according to Gregorian calendar.
New Year 2013
Tuesday, 1 January 2013

Carnival
Carnaval e Quarta-feira de Cinzas
Carnivals on two days preceding Ash Wednesday.
Monday, 11 February 2013
Tuesday, 12 February 2013

Ash Wednesday
40 days before Easter, not counting Sundays.
Ash Wednesday 2013
Wednesday, 13 February 2013

Good Friday
Sexta-feira Santa
Commemorates the cruxifixion of Jesus Christ
Good Friday 2013
Friday, 29 March 2013

Easter
Pascoa
Celebrates the resurrection of Jesus Christ.
Easter 2013
Sunday, 1 April 2013

Tiradentes’ Day
Commemorates the anniversary of a national martyr – Tiradentes – in 1792.
Sunday, 21 April 2013

Labour Day
Dia do Trabalho
Celebrates the achievements of the workers and the labour movement.
Labour Day 2013
Wednesday, 1 May 2013

Corpus Christi
A day to honor the Eucharist
2nd Thursday after Whitsun
Corpus Christi 2013
Thursday, 30 May 2013

Independence Day
Dia da Independencia
Celebrates Brazil’s Independence from Portugal in 1822.
Brazil’s Independence Day 2013
Saturday, 7 September 2013

Our Lady of Aparecida
Nossa Senhora de Aparecida
Feast of Our Lady of Aparecida commemorates Virgin Mary as Patron Saint of Brazil.
Saturday, 12 October 2013

All Souls Day
Dia de Finados
Commemorates the faithful departed.
All Souls Day
Saturday, 2 November 2013

Proclamation of the Republic Day
Proclamacao da Republica
Commemorates the proclamation of Brazillian Republic in 1889.
Friday, 15 November 2013

Christmas Day
Natal
Celebrates the birthday of Jesus Christ
Christmas Day
Wednesday, 25 December 2013

Happy Brazil Holidays 2013!