Federal Territory Day

Federal Territory Day, also known as Hari Wilayah Persekutuan or simply Hari Wilayah, is a state holiday for the Federal territory of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan and Putrajaya in Malaysia. The holiday is observed on February 1 every year to commemorate the anniversary of Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory establishment in 1974.

When is Federal Territory Day 2014?
Federal Territory Day 2014 falls on Saturday, 1 February 2014.

When is Federal Territory Day 2015?
Federal Territory Day 2015 falls on Sunday, 1 February 2015.

Origin of Federal Territory Day
On 28 January 1974, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur Agreement was signed by Yang Dipertuan Agong, Tuanku Halim Muadzam Shah of Kedah on behalf of the Federal Government of Malaysia and the Sultan of Selangor, Almarhum Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah on behalf of the State Government of Selangor. Four day after the signing, the Federal Territory Day was introduced to be celebrated on Kuala Lumpur. In 1984 and 2001, Labuan and Putrajaya became the second and third Federal Territories of Malaysia, thus, the Federal Territory Day is also observed on both territories.

Federal Territory Day Celebration
Federal Territory Day always marks by certain numbers of festivals, parades, street events, and firework displays. Since it is a state holiday in Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, and Putrajaya, many people are able attend the events with their families.

The main celebration of Federal Territory Day usually takes place at Dataran Merdeka, Kuala Lumpur. Every year, the Federal Territories government choose a special theme to celebrate the holiday. Last year, the theme was “Rakyat Bersatu, Wilayah Persekutuan Maju” or “People’s Unity, Federal Territory Progress”. The theme for 2013 Federal Territory Day in Malaysia is yet to be determined.

Happy Federal Territory Day 2014 !