List of India 2011 Public Holidays

As a multicultural and multi-religious country, India celebrates holidays and festivals of various religions. Most of the India public holidays are religious holidays, with only three nationally celebrated secular public holidays: Republic Day, Independence Day, and the Gandhi Jayanti.

Each state and region has local festivals depending on prevalent religious and linguistic demographics of the population in that region.

Popular religious festivals which are celebrated almost across all parts of India include Hindu festivals of Diwali, Ganesh Chaturthi, Holi, Dussehra and the Islamic festivals of Eid ul-Fitr, Eid al-Adha, Mawlid an-Nab.

Sikh festivals such as Guru Nanak Jayanti, the Christian festivals such as Christmas, Good Friday and Jain festivals like Mahavir Jayanti, Paryushan are celebrated in many areas where these religions have a significant followings.

Please note the following India 2011 holiday dates are estimates only. We do not and cannot guarantee the accuracy of the holiday dates.

List of Popular India Public Holidays 2011 Dates
Below is the list of India 2011 holidays

New Year’s Day
Saturday, 1 January 2011

Pongal
Harvest Festival of South India
Friday, 14 January 2011

India Republic Day^
India Republic Day 2011
Wednesday, 26 January 2011

Milad-Un-Nabi
Mawlid an-Nabi ? Birth of the Islamic Prophet Muhammad.
Tuesday, 15 February 2011

Mahashivratri / Maha Sivaratri
Great Night of Shiva ? offerings of Bael (Bilva) leaves to the Lord Shiva, a Hindu festival
Thursday, 3 March 2011

Holika Dahan
Eve of Holi 2011
Saturday, 19 March 2011

Holi
Hindu festival of colours
Sunday, 20 March 2011

Birthday of Dr B R Ambedkar
Birthday of Dr B R Ambedkar, architect of the Indian Constitution
Thursday, 14 April 2011

Mahavir Jayanthi
Birth of Mahavira, the last Tirthankara ? the most important religious holiday in Jainism
Saturday, 16 April 2011

Good Friday
Death of Jesus ? Christian holiday – Good Friday 2011
Friday, 22 April 2011

Easter Monday
Resurrection of Jesus ? Christian holiday
Read more in Easter Sunday 24 April 2011
Monday, 25 April 2011

Buddha Purnima
Vesak Day ? Celebrates birth, enlightenment, and death of Buddha
India Budha Purnima 2011
Tuesday, 17 May 2011

Raksha Bandhan
Hindu Festival celebrated mainly in northern India
Saturday, 13 August 2011

Independence Day^
Celebrates India Independence
Monday, 15 August 2011

Krishna Janmashtami / Srikrishna Jayanti
Birth of Krishna ? a Hindu festival celebrating birth of Lord Krishna, an avatar of god Vishnu
Monday, 22 August 2011

Id ul Fitr
Eid ul-Fitr ? End of Ramadan, according to Islamic Calendar
Eid 2011
Tuesday, 30 August 2011

Ganesh Chaturthi
Hindu Festival to celebrate the birthday of Lord Ganesh (Ganesha). Anant Chaturdashi will be celebrated on the last day of Ganesh Chaturthi, Monday, 12 September 2011.
Thursday, 1 September 2011 – Monday, 12 September 2011

Gandhi Jayanti^
Mahatma Gandhi?s Birthday
Sunday, 2 October 2011

Dussehra
Vijaya Dashami ? Hindu festival
Thursday, 6 October 2011

Deepavali / Diwali
Festival of Lights ? a very important Hindu festival
Diwali 2011
Wednesday, 26 October 2011

Idu?l Zuha/Bakrid
Eid al-Adha ? Feast of the Sacrifice, according to Islamic Calendar
Qurban 2011
Sunday, 6 November 2011

Guru Nanak Jayanti
Guru Nanak?s Birthday ? Sikh Festival
Thursday, 10 November 2011

Muharram/ Day of Ashura
Mourning for the martyrdom of Husayn ibn Ali / Imam Hussain, 10th day of Muharram month in Islamic lunar calendar. (Also often called as Moharram)
Tuesday, 6 December 2011

Christmas Day
Christmas 2011 celebrates birth of Jesus ? one of Christian most important holidays.
Sunday, 25 December 2011

Boxing Day
The day after Christmas – Christian Holiday
Monday, 26 December 2011

^Denotes India National Holidays
Happy India Holidays 2011 !