List of Hong Kong 2010 Public Holidays Calendar

While Hong Kong is an integral part of People Republic of China, they have different holiday dates from China public holidays. This is due to Hong Kong special status as a Special Administrative Region (SAR).

There are 17 public holidays / general holidays / bank holidays in Hong Kong. Public holidays in Hong Kong are set by Hong Kong’s General Holidays Ordinance. They allow workers get rest from work, usually in conjunction with special occasions.

According to Hong Kong laws, when a designated public holiday falls on a Sunday or on the same day of another holiday, the immediate following weekday would be a public holiday. However, there are exceptions; for example, as Lunar New Year 2010 falls on a Sunday (14 February 2010), the government have designated the Saturday directly before (13 February 2010) as a public holiday.

Here is a list of Public Holidays in Hong Kong in Year 2010 (also called as Hong Kong 2010 General Holidays )

New Year’s day – The first day of January 1 January 2010 Friday
The day preceding Lunar New Year’s Day 13 February 2010 Saturday
The second day of the Chinese Lunar New Year 15 February 2010 Monday
The third day of the Chinese Lunar New Year 16 February 2010 Tuesday
Good Friday 2 April 2010 Friday
The day following Good Friday 3 April 2010 Saturday
Easter Monday 5 April 2010 Monday
The day following Ching Ming Festival 6 April 2010 Tuesday
Labour Day 1 May 2010 Saturday
Vesak Day – The Buddha?s Birthday 21 May 2010 Friday
Tuen Ng Festival 16 June 2010 Wednesday
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day 1 July 2010 Thursday
The day following Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival 23 September 2010 Thursday
National Day 1 October 2010 Friday
Chung Yeung Festival 16 October 2010 Saturday
Christmas Day 25 December 2010 Saturday
The first weekday after Christmas Day 27 December 2010 Monday

“As the Lunar New Year’s Day in 2010 falls on a Sunday, the day preceding will be designated as an additional general holiday. Also, the Ching Ming Festival and the Easter Monday in 2010 fall on the same day, thus the next following day that is not itself a general holiday will be observed as an additional general holiday,” said a Government spokesman.

From Hong Kong Government official website.