Malaysia 2012 Public Holiday

Malaysia public holiday 2012 is unique in that they have a lot of local holidays for certain states. Most of the local holidays are related to the ruler, (e.g. birthday, installation, etc), while some are religious (Good Friday, Isra Miraj), and some others local holidays in Malaysia are traditional /customs (Gawai Dayak, Kaamatan Festival).

List of Malaysia national and states holidays year 2012
Below is list of Malaysia 2012 public holidays.

New Year’s Day
New Year 2012
Sunday, 1 January 2012
All states except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu

Birthday of Yang DiPertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan
Saturday, 14 July 2012
Only in Negeri Sembilan

Birthday of the Sultan of Kedah
Sunday, 15 January 2012
Only in Kedah

Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year 2012
Monday, 23 January 2012
National

Chinese New Year 2nd Day
Tuesday, 24 January 2012
All states except Kelantan & Terengganu

Federal Territory Day
Wednesday, 1 February 2012
Only in Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur & Labuan

Mawlid al-Nabi/Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday/Maulidur Rasul
Sunday, 5 February 2012
National

Thaipusam
Tuesday, 7 February 2012
Only in Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang & Selangor

Anniversary of Installation of the Sultan of Terengganu
Sunday, 4 March 2012
Only in Terengganu

Birthday of The Sultan of Kelantan
Friday, 30 March 2012
Only in Kelantan

Good Friday
Good Friday 2012
Friday, 6 April 2012
Only in Sabah & Sarawak

Declaration of Malaka as Historical City
Sunday, 15 April 2012
Only in Melaka

Birthday of The Sultan of Perak
Thursday, 19 April 2012
Only in Perak

Labour Day
International Labour Day
Tuesday, 1 May 2012
National

Hari Hol Negeri Pahang
Monday, 7 May 2012
Only in Pahang

Wesak Day / Vesak Day / Birth of Buddha
Wesak Day 2012
Saturday, 5 May 2012
National

Birthday of The Raja of Perlis
Thursday, 17 May 2012
Only in Perlis

Kaamatan Harvest Festival
Wednesday, 30 May 2012
Thursday, 31 May 2012
Only in Federal Territory of Labuan & Sabah

Gawai Dayak Festival
Friday, 1 June 2012
Saturday, 2 June 2012
Only in Sarawak

Birthday of S.P.B. Yang di-Pertuan Agong – H M The King
Saturday, 2 June 2012
National

Israk & Mikraj / Isra Miraj
Isra Miraj
Sunday, 17 June 2012
Only in Kedah, Negeri Sembilan & Perlis

Georgetown Heritage Day
Saturday, 7 July 2012
Only in Penang

Birthday of Yang DiPertua Negeri of Penang
Saturday, 7 July 2012
Only in Penang

Birthday of The Sultan of Terengganu
Friday, 20 July 2012
Only in Terengganu

Awal Ramadan (Start of Ramadan fasting month / bulan puasa)
Saturday, 21 July 2012
Only in Johor, Kedah & Melaka

Nuzul Al-Quran
Monday, 6 August 2012
Only in Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor & Trengganu

Aidil Fitri / Hari Raya Puasa / End of Ramadan
Eid / Hari Raya Aidil Fitri 2012
Sunday, 19 August 2012
Monday, 20 August 2012
National

Malaysia National Day/Independence Day/Merdeka Day
Malaysia Independence Day
Friday, 31 August 2012
National

Birthday of Yang di-Pertua of Sarawak
Sunday, 9 September 2012
Only in Sarawak

Malaysia Day
Malaysia Day – anniversary of the establishment of Malaysian federation.
Sunday, 16 September 2012
National

Birthday of Yang di-Pertua of Sabah
Sunday, 16 September 2012
Only in Sabah

Birthday of Yang di-Pertua of Melaka
Saturday, 14 October 2012
Only in Melaka

Birthday of The Sultan of Pahang
Wednesday, 24 October 2012
Only in Pahang

Hari Raya Haji/Qurban/Aidil Adha
Eid al-Adha
Friday, 26 October 2012
National

Hari Raya Haji (Qurban) 2nd Day
Saturday, 27 October 2012
Only in Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Trengganu

Deepavali / Hari Diwali / Festival of Lights
Diwali 2012
Tuesday, 13 November 2012
All states except Sarawak

Awal Muharram / Islamic New Year / Ma’al Hijrah
Al Hijra
Thursday, 15 November 2012
National

Birthday of The Sultan of Johor
Thursday, 22 November 2012
Only in Johor

Birthday of The Sultan of Selangor
Tuesday, 11 December 2012
Only in Selangor

Christmas Day
Christmas 2012
Tuesday, 25 December 2012
National

*When a Malaysia 2012 public holiday falls on a Sunday then the following day (Monday) becomes a public holiday.

Please note that dates subject to changes, we do not and cannot guarantee the accuracy of this Malaysia 2012 holiday calendar.

Happy Malaysia Holiday 2012 !

List of Malaysia national and states holidays year 2010
Below is list of Malaysia 2010 public holidays.

New Year’s Day
Friday, 1 January 2010
All states except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu

Birthday of the Sultan of Kedah
Sunday, 17 January 2010*
Monday, 18 January 2010
Only in Kedah

Federal Territory Day
1 February 2010
Only in Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur & Labuan

Chinese New Year
Sunday, 14 February 2010*
Monday, 15 February 2010
National

Chinese New Year 2nd Day
Tuesday, 16 February 2010
All states except Kelantan & Terengganu

Anniversary of Installation of the Sultan of Terengganu
Thursday, 4 March 2010
Only in Terengganu

Mawlid al-Nabi/Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday/Maulidur Rasul
Friday, 26 February 2010
National

Birthday of The Sultan of Kelantan
Tuesday, 30 March 2010
Wednesday, 31 March 2010
Only in Kelantan

Good Friday
Friday, 2 April 2010
Only in Johor, Sabah & Sarawak

Birthday of The Sultan of Johor
Thursday, 8 April 2010
Only in Johor

Declaration of Malaka as Historical City
Thursday, 15 April 2010
Only in Melaka

Birthday of The Sultan of Perak
Monday, 19 April 2010
Only in Perak

Labour Day
Saturday, 1 May 2010
National

Hari Hol Negeri Pahang
Thursday, 7 May 2010
Only in Pahang

Birthday of The Raja of Perlis
Monday, 17 May 2010
Only in Perlis

Wesak Day / Vesak Day / Birth of Buddha /
Thursday, 27 May 2010
National

Kaamatan Harvest Festival
Saturday, 30 May 2010
Sunday, 31 May 2010*
Monday, 1 June 2010
Only in Federal Territory of Labuan & Sabah

Gawai Dayak Festival
Tuesday, 01 June 2010
Wednesday, 02 June 2010
Only in Sarawak

Birthday of S.P.B. Yang di-Pertuan Agong – H M The King
Saturday, 5 June 2010
National

Birthday of Yang DiPertua Negeri of Penang
Saturday, 10 July 2010
Only in Penang

Birthday of Yang DiPertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan
19 July (Sun)
Only in Negeri Sembilan

Birthday of The Sultan of Terengganu
Tuesday, 20 July 2010
Only in Terengganu

Israk & Mikraj / Isra Miraj
08 July (Thu)
Only in Kedah, Negeri Sembilan & Perlis

Malaysia National Day/Independence Day/Merdeka Day
Tuesday, 31 August 2010
National

Awal Ramadan (Start of Ramadan or the fast month)
Wednesday, 11 August 2010
Only in Johor, Kedah & Melaka

Birthday of Yang di-Pertua of Sarawak
11 September 2010
Only in Sarawak

Malaysia Day & Birthday of Yang di-Pertua of Sabah
16 September (Thu)
Only in Sabah

Aidil Fitri / Hari Raya Puasa / End of Ramadan
Friday, 10 September 2010
Saturday, 11 September 2010
National

Birthday of Yang di-Pertua of Melaka
Saturday, 09 October 2010
Only in Melaka

Birthday of The Sultan of Pahang
Sunday, 24 October 2010*
Moonday. 25 October 2010
Only in Pahang

Deepavali /Festival of Lights
Hari Diwali / Deepavali 2010
Friday, 5 November 2010
All states except Sarawak & Federal Territory of Labuan

Hari Raya Haji/Qurban/Aidil Adha
Aidil Adha 2010
Tuesday, 16 November 2010
National

Hari Raya Haji (Qurban) 2nd Day
Wednesday, 17 November 2010
Only in Kedah & Perlis

Birthday of The Sultan of Selangor
Saturday, 11 December 2010
Only in Selangor

Awal Muharram / Islamic New Year / Ma’al Hijrah
Tuesday, 7 December 2010
National

Christmas Day
Saturday, 25 December 2010
National

*When a 2010 Malaysia public holiday falls on a Sunday then the following day (Monday) becomes a public holiday

Please note that dates subject to changes, we do not and cannot guarantee the accuracy of this Malaysia 2010 holiday calendar.

Happy Malaysia Holiday 2010 !