Due to the fact that Mauritius is a multicultural as well as multi-religion country, public holidays in this country mainly consist of religious and traditional festivals.

Mauritius observes Chinese, Hindu, Christian, and Muslim festivals as its public holidays every year. The other public holidays are international holidays (New Year’s Day and Labour Day) and one local historical event (Arrival of Indentured Labourer).

Mauritius Public Holidays 2013

The list of Mauritius public holidays for the year of 2013 stated below is taken from the announcement by Mauritius government. However, Eid al-Fitr holiday is based on moon sighting that can only be determined near the exact date. Therefore, the date of Eid al-Fitr given below is only an estimate.

New Year’s Day
New Year 2013
Tuesday, 1 January 2013

New Year’s Day
Wednesday, 2 January 2013
*Mauritius celebrates New Year for 2 days

Thaipoosam Cavadee
Sunday, 27 January 2013

Abolition of Slavery
Friday, 1 February 2013

Chinese New Year / Chinese Spring Festival
Sunday, 10 February 2013

Maha Shivaratree
Sunday, 10 March 2013

Mauritius National Day / Independence Day
Tuesday, 12 March 2013

Ougadi
Thursday, 11 April 2013

Labour Day
International Labour Day
Wednesday, 1 May 2013

Eid-Ul-Fitr
End of Ramadan fasting month according to Islamic lunar calendar.
*The exact date based on moon-sighting
Friday, 9 August 2013

Ganesh Chaturthi
Hindu festival to celebrate the birth of lord Ganesh – Ganesh Chaturthi
Tuesday, 10 September 2013

All Saints Day
A feast day to commemorate those who have reached the heaven – All Saints Day
Friday, 1 November 2013

Arrival of Indentured Labourers
Saturday, 2 November 2013

Diwali
Festival of Lights
Sunday, 3 November 2013

Christmas Day
Celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ – Christmas
Wednesday, 25 December 2013

Happy Mauritius Holidays 2013! Enjoy Your Holiday in Mauritius!