New Zealand Public Holidays 2014

There are several types of holidays in New Zealand – Mondayised holidays (always fall on Mondays), substituable holidays (can be substituted if they fall on weekend), and the fixed ones (only celebrated on the actual date of holidays).

Waitangi Day, Queen’s Birthday, and Labour Day are the examples of Mondayised holidays while Christmas and New Year’s Day are considered the substituable holidays. Holidays for Christmas and New Year’s Day can be substituted if they fall on weekend.

The rest New Zealand public holidays are fixed holidays. When the holidays fall on weekend, only those working on weekend are granted a day off or extra pay.

Companies obliging the employees to work on public holidays should give one and a half payment to them. As for the substitute holiday, companies should give the daily pay to the employees working on that date.

Shops are mostly open during most New Zealand public holidays. Yet, some trading restrictions are applied during Christmas Day, Good Friday, and before 1pm on Anzac Day.

List of New Zealand 2014 Holidays

New Year’s Day
the 1st day of the year in Gregorian calendar
New Year 2014
Wednesday, 1 January 2014

Day after New Year’s Day
the 2nd day of New Year’s Day
Thursday, 2 January 2014

Wellington Province Anniversary Day
Monday, 20 January 2014

Auckland Province Anniversary Day
Monday, 27 January 2014

Waitangi Day
Celebrates the signing of Treaty of Waitangi in 1840
Waitangi Day 2014
Thursday, 6 February 2014

Good Friday
Commemorates the crucifixion of Jesus
Good Friday 2014
Friday, 18 April 2014

Easter Monday
The day after Easter Sunday
Easter 2014
Monday, 21 April 2014

ANZAC Day
Commemorates the landing of the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) on Gallipoli, Turkey in 1915
ANZAC Day 2014
Friday, 25 April 2014

Queen’s Birthday
Celebrates the birthd of the monarch of Commonwealth countries
Queen’s Birthday 2014
Monday, 2 June 2014

Labour Day
Celebrates workers’ achievement in New Zealand
Labour Day 2014
Monday, 27 October 2014

Christmas Day
Celebrates the birth of Jesus
Christmas 2014
Thursday, 25 December 2014

Boxing Day
The day after Christmas
Boxing Day 2014
Friday, 26 December 2014

Happy New Zealand Holidays 2014 !