Nigeria 2014 Public Holidays Calendar

Every year, the Nigerians celebrate 15 public holidays. Since Islam and Christian are the most widely adopted religions in the country, public holidays in Nigeria are largely made of Islamic and Christian festivals.  

There are 4 Christian holidays i.e. Good Friday, Easter Monday, Christmas Day, and Boxing Day and 4 Islamic holidays i.e. Ramadan, Mawlid, Eid al-Fitr, and Eid al-Adha in Nigeria. Aside from the festivals above, Nigeria observes international celebrations such as New Year and Workers’ Day, and some national commemorations.

The list of Nigeria 2014 public holidays is available below. Please note this Nigeria public holidays 2014 is based on estimate only. We do not and cannot guarantee the accuracy of this 2014 Nigeria public holidays calendar.

Public Holidays in Nigeria 2014

New Year’s Day
1st day of the year in Western calendar
New Year 2014
Wednesday, 1 January 2014

Mawlid
Celebrates the birth of the Islamic Prophet Muhammad
Mawlid 2014
Tuesday, 14 January 2014

Good Friday
Commemorate the crucifixion of Jesus Christ
Good Friday 2014
Friday, 18 April 2014

Easter Monday
The day after Easter Sunday
Easter 2014
Monday, 21 April 2014

Worker’s Day
Celebrates workers’ achievement in Nigeria
International Workers’ Day 2014
Thursday, 1 May 2014

Children’s Day
A celebration to honor children in Nigeria
Children’s Day 2014
Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Democracy Day
Commemorates the failed 1993 election.
June 12 Commemoration is a local holiday in Lagos.
Thursday, 12 June 2014

Ramadan
The holy fasting month for the Muslims
Start of Ramadan 2014
Saturday, 28 June 2014

Eid al-Fitr
The end of Ramadan fasting month
Eid al-Fitr 2014
Tuesday, 29 July 2014

Independence Day
Commemorates the nation’s assumption of independent statehood.
Independence Day of Nigeria
Wednesday, 1 October 2014

Eid al-Adha
Islamic festival of sacrifice
Eid al-Adha 2014
Sunday, 5 October 2014

Christmas Day
Celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ
Christmas 2014
Thursday, 25 December 2014

Boxing Day
The day after Christmas
Boxing Day 2014
Friday, 26 December 2014

*Muslim festivals are based on Islamic lunar calendars. Certain festivals require thorough observation and sightings of the phases of the moon. Therefore, the dates given above is only an estimation. The exact dates of holidays are usually announced near the festivals.

Happy Nigeria holidays 2014 !