The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, commonly known as Saudi Arabia, occasionally spelled Sa’udi Arabia, is the largest Arab country of the Middle East. As a Muslim country governed on the basis of the Sharia (Islamic Law), Saudi Arabia observe 2 Islamic holidays (Eid ul-Fitr and Eid ul-Adha) aside from the National day.

Eid ul-Fitr, or the Feast of the End of Ramadan, on 1 Shawwal of Islamic calendar and Eid ul-Adha (The Feast of the End of Hajj) on 9 Dhul-Hijjah are officially celebrated for 10 days each. However some private sector institutions might have shorter days-off of 3-5 days.

Saudi Arabia 2012 Holidays

Below is the list of Saudi Arabia 2012 public holidays:

Eid al-Fitr
Djoulde Soumae / Ramadan ends
Eid 2012
Tuesday, 14 August 2012
Wednesday, 15 August 2012
Thursday, 16 August 2012
Friday, 17 August 2012
Saturday, 18 August 2012
Sunday, 19 August 2012
Monday, 20 August 2012
Tuesday, 21 August 2012
Wednesday, 22 August 2012
Thursday, 23 August 2012

Saudi Arabia National Day
Unification of The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Sunday, 23 September 2012

Eid al-Adha
Feast of the Sacrifice – Qurban 2012
Sunday, 21 October 2012
Monday, 22 October 2012
Tuesday, 23 October 2012
Wednesday, 24 October 2012
Thursday, 25 October 2012
Friday, 26 October 2012
Saturday, 27 October 2012
Sunday, 28 October 2012
Monday, 29 October 2012
Tuesday, 30 October 2012

Islamic festivals in Saudi Arabia are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given above are approximations.

Also note that in Saudi Arabia, work week is from Saturday through Wednesday, and generally a half day on Thursday. Schools are closed on Thursday and Friday (Friday being the Muslim holy day), generally considered as weekend in Saudi Arabia.

Happy Saudi Arabia 2012 Holidays!