The largest Arab country in the Middle East – Saudi Arabia – takes Sharia (Islamic law) as the basis of running the government and ruling the country. As a result, most public holidays in Saudi Arabia are taken from major Islamic festivals.

Every year, Saudi Arabia only observes two Islamic festivals (Eid al-fitr and Eid al-Adha) and one National day. The Eid al-Fitr are officially celebrated for about 3 until 10 days in sequence while Eid al-Adha are celebrated for about 10-14 days. Yet, some private businesses are usually closed for only 3-5 days on both holidays.

Saudi Arabia 2013 Holidays
Below is the list of Saudi Arabia 2013 holidays. Since most holidays in Saudi Arabia are determined through moon sightings, the exact dates of holidays are usually announced adjacent to the days. The list provided below is based on estimate. We do not and cannot guarantee the accuracy of the calendar available.

Eid al-Fitr
Djoulde Soumae / end of Ramadan – Eid al-Fitr
Thursday, 8 August 2013 (*Eid al-Fitr)
Friday, 9 August 2013
Saturday, 10 August 2013
Sunday, 11 August 2013
Monday, 12 August 2013
Tuesday, 13 August 2013
Wednesday, 14 August 2013

Saudi Arabia National Day
Al-Yaom Al-Watany
The Unification of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
Monday, 23 September 2013

Eid al-Adha
Feast of Sacrifice in Islamic tradition – Qurban
Thursday, 10 October 2013
Friday, 11 October 2013
Saturday, 12 October 2013
Sunday, 13 October 2013
Monday, 14 October 2013
Tuesday, 15 October 2013 (*Eid ul-Adha)
Wednesday, 16 October 2013
Thursday, 17 October 2013
Friday, 18 October 2013
Saturday, 19 October 2013
Sunday, 20 October 2013

In Saudi Arabia, work week starts from Saturday to Wednesday. Some businesses are open half day on Thursday and closed on Friday. All businesses, government institutions, and schools are closed on Friday – the holy day for Muslim.

Happy Saudi Arabia Holidays 2013!